Journaling-It Might Just Save You

I recently called one of my students to my office and asked him if everything was okay. I had been noticing that he hadn’t been himself since some time. Expecting to be rebuked at something he might have done, he was surprised at the train of my conversation.

He didn’t want to make eye contact and I didn’t want to make him uncomfortable. So I just decided to exchange a few words with him and told him that I admired his eloquence. I asked him if he had ever written a gratitude journal before. He shook his head. I asked him to try it and I promised I would also show him mine. The next day he came to my office without having to call him and showed me a brand new diary. I grinned with pleasure.

“May I read it?” I asked.

He nodded.

He had written three things he was grateful for and I couldn’t help smiling. It was such a wholesome experience.

The last gratitude journal I began in 2022 is on its last leaves. As I flipped through the pages the last two years flashed before me. Forgotten events came alive. And today as my daughter, who needs some excuse or the other to drag me to the stationery store, took me to buy a present for her best friend, I spotted a lovely peaches and cream diary. I couldn’t resist.

“I need a diary,” I told Jumana but actually it was myself I was trying to convince.

And like a child who has bought her favorite candy to savour I skipped home and began to write on its smooth, first page.

The gratitude journal is something I have spoken about and recommended in every content writing course; in many of my school classes, creative writing sessions and mindfulness trainings; to students whom I feel need to vent; to students who need to make an effort to look for a silver lining. It a way to reflect upon Allah’s blessings at the end of the day; ensure nothing is taken for granted; consciously learn to be optimistic and speak to Him.

In last year’s Lailatul Qadr Munajaat Mubaraka Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin TUS states:

“Oh my Ilah, Your believer is the servant of Aale Mohammed SAW who wins Your happiness by chanting Alhamdolillah Shukranlillah!” (PS: Each couplet of this literary masterpiece can be elaborated at length)

Such a profound lesson! This gratitude journal is one humble way to make Him happy!

Amate Syedna TUS

Maryam

I'd love to know what you think about this post!